1. What is the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

1. 漫威电影宇宙到底是个啥?


The Marvel Cinematic Universe - or MCU for short - is the shared place where all 22 films featuring the comic book characters are set.





Each tells its own distinct story but also connects with other films in the MCU, to tell an overarching tale. It’s a technique Marvel Comics pioneer Stan Lee also used in his comics.



2. Why did Marvel start with these characters?

2. 漫威电影宇宙是怎么诞生的?


In 2007, Marvel was recovering from bankruptcy and had sold off the film rights to some of the company’s most popular characters like the X-Men and Spider-Man.



Marvel still owned the superheroes who form the core Avengers team - Iron Man, the Hulk, Thor and Captain America - so used the early MCU films to introduce these heroes.



Marvel then brought these characters together for the crossover film Avengers Assemble.



The crossover was planned from the very beginning.



The first MCU film released, Iron Man, included a post-credits scene in which Samuel L Jackson’s super spy Nick Fury gives the first mention of the Avengers.



3. What order should I watch the films in?

3. 怎样才是漫威宇宙电影的正确打开方式?


We suggest you watch the films in chronological order, rather than the order in which the films were released.







4. Whats so important about Avengers: Endgame?

4. 《终局之战》为什么这么重要?


Marvels plans for its films are structured in phases, with each one ending with an Avengers crossover movie.



Avengers Assemble spelt the end of Phase One, and Age of Ultron brought Phase Two to a close.



Endgame not only ends Phase 3 but also wraps up the series of 22 films that Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige is now calling The Infinity Saga.



The new title for the first three phases of the MCU references their overarching story, which sees the gathering of the Infinity Stones (six powerful gems that grant their owner great power) and the war against the mad Titan Thanos (Josh Brolin).



Endgame will see the remaining Avengers try and rescue everyone, after villain Thanos got hold of all the Infinity Stones and wiped out half of all living things with a snap of his fingers in last years Avengers: Infinity War.





All bets are off as to who makes it to the finish line in Endgame, as it also coincides with the end of the contracts of some of the biggest Marvel stars.



Its been widely reported that Chris Evans (Steve Rogers/Captain America), Chris Hemsworth (Thor) and Robert Downey Jr (Tony Stark/Iron Man) have come to the end of their contracts.



Thers also been speculation that their Marvel co-stars Scarlett Johansson (Natasha Romonova/Black Widow), Jeremy Renner (Clint Barton/Hawkeye) and Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner/Hulk) have also reached the end of their tenure at the studio.



Though a solo Black Widow film is reported to be in the works, it could be a prequel, so there is no guarantee Johanssons character survives.



One thing is for sure though - whatever happens, it will take time for Endgames story to unfold.



It's the longest entry in the MCU so far, clocking in at three hours and two minutes. Thats the same length as the first instalment in Peter Jacksons Hobbit trilogy, An Unexpected Journey (2012).



5. Whats the future of the MCU?

5. 漫威电影宇宙未来将如何发展?


We can expect a major shake-up of the MCU, in the wake of Endgame.



Phase Four begins with the release of Spider-Man: Far from Home on July 5 2019.





According to producer Amy Pascal, the film will start a few minutes after Avengers 4 wraps as a story.



Tom Holland's Spidey was one of many heroes wiped out in Thanoss Snap in Infinity War, but given his starring role in this film, we can expect hell be alive and well before the Endgame credits roll.



New films involving other supposedly dead characters have also been confirmed for Phase Four.



Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige has confirmed Benedict Cumberbatchs Doctor Strange will return for a sequel at some point in the future.




Chadwick Boseman is also likely to recover from his disintegration in time for Black Panther 2.



We also know a third Guardians of the Galaxy film has been confirmed, but we dont know which Guardians will return for it. At the end of Infinity War, Bradley Coopers Rocket and Karen Gillans Nebula were the only survivors from that franchise.



Feige has also hinted that Phase Four could include a solo sequel for Brie Larsons Captain Marvel.



Also in development are new films involving super-powered beings called the Eternals, and martial artist superhero Shang-Chi.